Vietnam Visa Requirements

Vietnam will be implementing changes to its visa policy starting from August 15th, 2023. One of the key changes involves allowing longer travel durations for citizens of 13 countries that currently enjoy visa exemptions with Vietnam. Previously, visitors from these 13 countries could only stay in Vietnam for 15 days without a visa. Under the new rules, the maximum visa-free stay duration will be extended to 45 days. The 13 countries covered by this policy update are long-standing economic and cultural partners of Vietnam in Europe and East Asia. These include Germany, France, Italy and other Western European nations as well as Russia, Japan, South Korea and certain Scandinavian countries. The extended period of 45 days is applicable regardless of the type of passport or purpose of entry. This modification aims to provide greater convenience and flexibility for tourists and business travelers coming to Vietnam from these key markets.

The government has provided an updated list of 26 countries whose citizens are not required to obtain a visa for travel to our country. These exempted countries include all 25 member states of the European Union as well as Kazakhstan. Citizens of these 26 countries may enter and stay for certain periods without first acquiring a visa. The list aims to facilitate tourism and business exchanges by reducing red tape for travelers from our key partners around the world.


Brunei, Myanmar, Belarus, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Italy, Japan, Norway, Russia, South Korea, Spain, Sweden, The UK, The Philippines, Cambodia, Indonesia, Kyrgyzstan, Laos, Malaysia, Singapore, Thailand, Chile, Panama.


From 15th August 2023, Vietnam grants e-visas for citizens of all countries and territories with 90-day stay duration and valid for multiple entry.


Here is the list of border gates that allowed foreigners enter and exit Vietnam by E-visa.

  • 13 international airports: Noi Bai (Ha Noi), Tan Son Nhat (Ho Chi Minh City), Cam Ranh (Khanh Hoa), Da Nang, Cat Bi (Hai Phong), Can Tho, Phu Quoc (Kien Giang), Phu Bai (Thua Thien Hue), Van Don (Quang Ninh), Tho Xuan (Thanh Hoa), Dong Hoi (Quang Binh), Phu Cat (Binh Dinh), Lien Khuong (Lam Dong).
  • 16 land border gates: Tay Trang (Dien Bien), Mong Cai (Quang Ninh), Huu Nghi (Lang Son), Lao Cai, Na Meo (Thanh Hoa), Nam Can (Nghe An), Cau Treo (Ha Tinh), Cha Lo (Quang Binh), La Lay and Lao Bao (Quang Tri), Bo Y (Kon Tum), Moc Bai and Xa Mat (Tay Ninh), Tinh Bien and Vinh Xuong (An Giang), Ha Tien (Kien Giang).
  • 13 sea border gates: Hon Gai and Cam Pha (Quang Ninh), Hai Phong, Nghi Son (Thanh Hoa), Vung Ang (Ha Tinh), Chan May (Thua Thien Hue), Da Nang, Nha Trang (Khanh Hoa), Quy Nhon (Binh Dinh), Dung Quat (Quang Ngai), Vung Tau (Ba Ria - Vung Tau), Ho Chi Minh City, Duong Dong (Kien Giang).

Etiam vitae dapibus rhoncus eget etiam aenean nisi montes felis pretium donec veni pede vidi condimentum et aenean hendrerit. Quis sem justo nisi varius Phasellus tellus tellus, imperdiet ut imperdiet eu, iaculis a sem